Family Room Makeover: It’s On Like Donkey Kong

Bad things happen when husbands travel.

Things like reading one too many posts on Young House Love. Adding images to my Ideabooks on Houzz. Trolling Craigslist for mid-modern furniture.

So, while Jonathan traveled for work for eight days, I diligently tended the homefront, the Fat and Appy front and the three girls under age seven front (including two ballet classes, three gymnastics classes, one drama camp performance, untold grilled cheese sandwiches, three playdates plus a bottle of wine shared with my neighbor, Felicia. But who’s counting?)

And while the little angels slept, I plotted big-time about what to do with our child-friendly family room that makes me want to surrender my Dwell subscription. We have good furniture (minus the bookshelves); we have great art. The room is light-filled. It’s just never, ever come together. So this week, I Googled, trolled, schemed and dreamed.

You can probably see where this is going: It’s time for a Family Room Makeover!

This morning, I purchased a mid-mod dresser on Craigslist that will anchor the new family room back wall. It’s gorgeous, wonderful, amazing. We’ll (and by that I mean, Jonathan) build shelves. He’s even going to make me a corner desk since I don’t have a proper desk but kind of drift all over the house with my iPad. A wall color change is also in need. Our seedling green was pretty in 2007 but I am over it, yo.

Here’s what we’re working with:

Image

Tons of toy overkill…would love your suggestions about what to do with that. We’ll need to replace the floor lamp bowl at the back right that was broken twelve hours after an all-family IKEA trip. Also, we’ll probably rearrange art because we like to do that. The rocker at right will stay—my parents redid it as a gift and I love it. The antique hutch at far left was my grandmother’s and I adore it, staying. Have to figure out what to do with the television. We’re not big tv watchers, but we like to have a set for Netflix DVD’s. I can’t imagine spending money on a flat-screenie-thingie. But that honkin’ tube-style set is kind of ridiculous.

The bookshelves are already on Craigslist. You can read how I tried to warn potential buyers what they are in for with these pretty, lying shelves. They’ve been ridden hard and put up wet. We tried to love you, O Bookshelf, but you would have none of it. Farewell, farewell.

So, it’s on! We’ll share the journey with you as we go. And this will probably be the last time Jonathan travels for quite some time, don’t you think?

Hello! We’re Jennifer and Jonathan and we’re tickled you stopped by. Sign up for our Fat and Appy emails at left or follow us in the normal places. Welcome! 

9 thoughts on “Family Room Makeover: It’s On Like Donkey Kong

  1. I LOVE your current room, but know you’ll do an awesome job re-doing it. Caleb loves to say, “it’s on like Donkey Kong,” and even has an e-mail address with that title. I wish I had 1/2 your creativity…..

  2. Pingback: The Magical Wood Shop: Tyler Morris Workworking | I Love Your Work, Jonathan Fenske

  3. Pingback: The Magical Wood Shop: Tyler Morris Woodworking | I Love Your Work, Jonathan Fenske

  4. Pingback: DIY Book Shelves: Gray Goodness | I Love Your Work, Jonathan Fenske

  5. Pingback: A New Wooden Desk in the Family Room | I Love Your Work, Jonathan Fenske

  6. Pingback: Family Room Makeover: It’s An “After” | I Love Your Work, Jonathan Fenske

Leave a Reply

