And a Dog Comes Home

I posted the update below on my personal Facebook page yesterday. This is what we’re up to this week:

“There comes a time in a family when the children beg for a dog. They plead for a dog. They make posters about dogs. And the parents say “No way.” And then, the parents remember how dogs can be awesome. They recall beautiful dogs named Kuchen and Kemp who graced their lives. And then the parents, who really love their children but also recall that they, too, love dogs, say “Yes.” 

Introducing Phoenix Orion McGruff Mars Fenske. “Phoenix” is for the mythic bird that rose from the ashes because this dog is the spitting image of sweet, departed Kempie. “Orion” was his given name by his loving first mama. “McGruff” was Jonathan’s first name choice. And “Mars” was my first choice for a name after the painter Marsden Hartley. 

It’s good to fall in love again.”

Meet our new sweetie:

A picture of the Fenskes new Aussie

A picture of the Fenskes new Australian Shepherd

But maybe the best part is how Phoenix has just slipped into our family like he’s always been there. After about five days of watching him like a hawk (and never leaving him alone with the baby), I’ve relaxed and have started trusting him more. This dog has made the backyard almost magical. He’s watched the girls make “bird nests,” collected herbs with them and listened to endless fairytale stories told in deep green grass.

A picture of the Fenskes Australian Shepherd

It’s been fun to discover again how dogs see the world. He’s devoted to me, rarely leaving my side. (Phoenix is under my chair as I type.) He lives to play, run and walk which is really good for me because, too often, I put off a walk to do something “more productive.” I can’t do that anymore. He makes me hop up, slip on my shoes and hit the pavement. Sure, Phoenix has some naughty habits to undo (he thinks the kids are sheep, as is an Aussie’s nature) but it’s nothing we can’t handle. Even dear, departed Kemp was a rascal when we adopted him back in the day. Given enough attention and training, Phoenix will be just fine.

3 thoughts on “And a Dog Comes Home

  1. Pingback: Suburban Slaughter | I Love Your Work, Jonathan Fenske

Leave a Reply

