Under Construction: Unicorns and Body Parts

Thanks for your blogging patience as Jonathan and I continue to crank out some special projects. I have discovered that I can’t blog and work on my middle grade novel, Magical Raintree Daughters. I can do one or the other, but not both. Jonathan has finished his latest picture book and I’ll give you a hint: it concerns the lowly chin. That’s right, folks, we’re all about the chin up in here.

And what’s this with unicorns, you say? Well, I have noticed that when Magical Raintree Daughters starts to bog down, I think of my eldest girl and I know she would be chomping at the bit to see more action. So, I think to myself, “Throw in a unicorn!” And then the story gets moving again. I haven’t actually added a unicorn, yet, of course. But I have been writing in the equivalent.

I should be done with the novel in about 5-7,000 words. It’s challenging to pull it all together, but I am excited to end this particular story. Then, I’ll take a break and start on Book Two, which will be about the oldest magical Raintree daughter, Penhally.

Until then, here’s a picture of our middle girl, reading away. We love books around here, we sure do.

A little girl reads a children's book

2 thoughts on “Under Construction: Unicorns and Body Parts

Leave a Reply

