5 Tips for Writing the Best Love Letter Ever

Forget the perfume. Ditch the roses. For Valentine’s Day this year, all you need is a pen and a pretty piece of paper.

Your love letter doesn’t have to be penned to a romantic partner. Write what’s in your heart to your child, mother or father, best friend or simply someone special in your life.

If you need a little nudge, I’ve written 5 pointers below. Go ahead…write a letter this year! Your loved one will always cherish it. Four times per year, Jonathan and I pen letters to each other (birthdays, our anniversary, Mother’s/Father’s Day and Christmas.) I love that our girls will inherit boxes of letters from their parents. As our oldest says now when she sees us kiss (with gentle disgust): “Smoochie! Smoochie!”

Valentine’s Love Letter Tip #1: Tell Them Why You Are Writing

This is a secret tip to writing a good love letter. Open your note telling your loved one why you wanted to write this letter.

Dear Honey, I wanted to sit down and tell you a few things that are in my heart. 

DSC_1018

Valentine’s Love Letter Tip #2: Reference Your Current State of Affairs

Life is crazy right now. With the three girls, it seems like we’re always making a peanut butter sandwich or scraping one off the ceiling. 

DSC_1011

Valentine’s Love Letter Tip #3: Tell Your Loved One You’re Crazy about Them

But even with our long days of chasing our art dreams while chasing down the girls, my heart still jumps when I see your face. 

DSC_0133

Valentine’s Love Letter Tip #4: Praise Something Awesome 

Quite frankly, I’m in awe of your talent. I’m blown away by how you care for us. I am deeply, deeply thankful that you are the biggest part of my life. 

DSC_0227

Valentine’s Love Letter Tip #5: End with a Sentiment from the Heart

My home will always be with you.

I love you, 

Jennifer 

DSC_0348

 

This week’s contest winner is Jaymie from Snacks for Max! Thanks, Jaymie, for commenting! Please also check out Jaymie’s blog for a really sweet review she wrote of Jonathan’s easy reader Love Is in the Air. Last week, we also had a great post on Rochelle Melander’s Write Now Coach blog (Jonathan guest blogged about his fave children’s books). And Secrets and Sharing Soda did a beautiful review of Love Is in the Air.

Photographs Copyright 2013 Jennifer & Jonathan Fenske

6 thoughts on “5 Tips for Writing the Best Love Letter Ever

    • I think we all have trouble with this from time to time, Aunt Laura. Sometimes, when I sit down to write, the words just don’t come out pretty. I think my first job as a newspaper reporter was the greatest cure for writer’s block. If I wanted to get paid, I had to write!

  1. Now THAT is a rocking good Valentine’s Day love letter. I’m definitely taking your advice. I’m so excited we’re the winners! Max will get to give a great gift to his best buddy 🙂

  2. Pingback: How to Be Happy | I Love Your Work, Jonathan Fenske

Leave a comment